How we developed the Belfast Agenda

Share How we developed the Belfast Agenda on Facebook Share How we developed the Belfast Agenda on Twitter Share How we developed the Belfast Agenda on Linkedin Email How we developed the Belfast Agenda link

This engagement process has finished.

Our engagement process, 'continuing the conversation' has finished. However, we have retained this page so that you can read about the review process and the steps we took to review and update the Belfast Agenda.


Community planning was a new duty introduced in April 2015 as part of Local Government reform. It is a process by which the Council and a range of partners providing services in the city (including health, libraries, education, policing, business and others) jointly plan and work together with local people to achieve wellbeing outcomes for our city and its people. As part of the process, the Council and its community planning partners must produce a community plan every 4 years, that sets out the long-term objectives for improving economic, environmental and social wellbeing, as well as the actions that will be delivered to help us achieve the objectives.

Within Belfast, the Community Planning Partnership created the Belfast Agenda, the city’s first community plan. In developing this Plan, the Partnership engaged a wide range of organisations from different sectors in all areas of the city in addition to talking to residents - a process we called the "Belfast Conversation".

Every four years we review and update the plan. If you live, work, study or have a business in Belfast, then the Belfast Agenda affects you! We want to hear your views as part of our "Continuing the Conversation" engagement programme as we seek to improve our plans. We want to know what you think about our existing vision and outcomes for Belfast (for 2035); and the priorities that we will focus on over the next four years (2022-26). This forms the basis of the initial phase of engagement which we expect to run from June-September 2021 (see our Review timeline to the right).


At this stage, we expect to have an agreed priority framework and attention will turn to action planning and problem solving. We will undertake further engagement to help shape our plans which will contain a range of actions, design to deliver meaningful impact to people's lives. We expect this phase of engagement will be undertaken for the rest of 2021 and into the new year.

You will be able to give your views and have your say at each stage throughout the project on Your Say Belfast. Alternatively, you can also drop into your local library, community centre or leisure centre where you will be able to pick up a short survey to provide feedback. Finally, why not join the conversation online through social media, using the hashtag #BelfastConversation.

Our engagement process, 'continuing the conversation' has finished. However, we have retained this page so that you can read about the review process and the steps we took to review and update the Belfast Agenda.


Community planning was a new duty introduced in April 2015 as part of Local Government reform. It is a process by which the Council and a range of partners providing services in the city (including health, libraries, education, policing, business and others) jointly plan and work together with local people to achieve wellbeing outcomes for our city and its people. As part of the process, the Council and its community planning partners must produce a community plan every 4 years, that sets out the long-term objectives for improving economic, environmental and social wellbeing, as well as the actions that will be delivered to help us achieve the objectives.

Within Belfast, the Community Planning Partnership created the Belfast Agenda, the city’s first community plan. In developing this Plan, the Partnership engaged a wide range of organisations from different sectors in all areas of the city in addition to talking to residents - a process we called the "Belfast Conversation".

Every four years we review and update the plan. If you live, work, study or have a business in Belfast, then the Belfast Agenda affects you! We want to hear your views as part of our "Continuing the Conversation" engagement programme as we seek to improve our plans. We want to know what you think about our existing vision and outcomes for Belfast (for 2035); and the priorities that we will focus on over the next four years (2022-26). This forms the basis of the initial phase of engagement which we expect to run from June-September 2021 (see our Review timeline to the right).


At this stage, we expect to have an agreed priority framework and attention will turn to action planning and problem solving. We will undertake further engagement to help shape our plans which will contain a range of actions, design to deliver meaningful impact to people's lives. We expect this phase of engagement will be undertaken for the rest of 2021 and into the new year.

You will be able to give your views and have your say at each stage throughout the project on Your Say Belfast. Alternatively, you can also drop into your local library, community centre or leisure centre where you will be able to pick up a short survey to provide feedback. Finally, why not join the conversation online through social media, using the hashtag #BelfastConversation.

This engagement process has finished.

Please let us know if you have any questions about community planning, the Belfast Agenda or ways in which you can get involved with the review of the plan.  

  • Share Having recently relocated to Belfast from Los Angeles, I'm wondering about the primary goal of increasing the population by 66,000 by 2035. How was that number arrived at and how will greater population density benefit the City generally? Thanks on Facebook Share Having recently relocated to Belfast from Los Angeles, I'm wondering about the primary goal of increasing the population by 66,000 by 2035. How was that number arrived at and how will greater population density benefit the City generally? Thanks on Twitter Share Having recently relocated to Belfast from Los Angeles, I'm wondering about the primary goal of increasing the population by 66,000 by 2035. How was that number arrived at and how will greater population density benefit the City generally? Thanks on Linkedin Email Having recently relocated to Belfast from Los Angeles, I'm wondering about the primary goal of increasing the population by 66,000 by 2035. How was that number arrived at and how will greater population density benefit the City generally? Thanks link

    Having recently relocated to Belfast from Los Angeles, I'm wondering about the primary goal of increasing the population by 66,000 by 2035. How was that number arrived at and how will greater population density benefit the City generally? Thanks

    Corbett Barklie asked 10 months ago

    The experience of other economically successful cities shows that increasing the number of jobs results in a growing population. The Belfast Agenda has an ambition to grow the population of the city by 66,000 additional people over the plan period, resulting in a total population of over 400,000 by 2035. 

    Independent research undertaken to inform the Belfast Agenda demonstrates that this level of population growth is required to support economic growth and, although ambitious, is realistic in terms of historic build rates for residential development. This same research identifies an associated need of approximately 31,600 new homes over the 15year plan period from 2020-2035.

    Beyond the economic argument for increasing population within a city, there are also several environmental and social benefits to be realised. The Belfast Agenda is linked to the Local Development Plan (LDP) which also sets out the same aspirations for the future physical development and growth of the city and the policies that will be used in assessing future planning applications. Both plans are statutorily linked and will enable the sustainable spatial growth and development of the city. 

    I hope this answers your query 

  • Share Why is there no reference to rich history and opportunities Belfast has with the Irish language? There isn't one mention of the role the Irish language has to play in Belfast. No mention of Irish medium education, No mention of the Gaeltacht Quarter, no mention of shared and irish history. Is there anyway the Irish language community can get involved / participate in the review? on Facebook Share Why is there no reference to rich history and opportunities Belfast has with the Irish language? There isn't one mention of the role the Irish language has to play in Belfast. No mention of Irish medium education, No mention of the Gaeltacht Quarter, no mention of shared and irish history. Is there anyway the Irish language community can get involved / participate in the review? on Twitter Share Why is there no reference to rich history and opportunities Belfast has with the Irish language? There isn't one mention of the role the Irish language has to play in Belfast. No mention of Irish medium education, No mention of the Gaeltacht Quarter, no mention of shared and irish history. Is there anyway the Irish language community can get involved / participate in the review? on Linkedin Email Why is there no reference to rich history and opportunities Belfast has with the Irish language? There isn't one mention of the role the Irish language has to play in Belfast. No mention of Irish medium education, No mention of the Gaeltacht Quarter, no mention of shared and irish history. Is there anyway the Irish language community can get involved / participate in the review? link

    Why is there no reference to rich history and opportunities Belfast has with the Irish language? There isn't one mention of the role the Irish language has to play in Belfast. No mention of Irish medium education, No mention of the Gaeltacht Quarter, no mention of shared and irish history. Is there anyway the Irish language community can get involved / participate in the review?

    Conchúr Ó Muadaigh asked over 2 years ago

    Thank you for contacting us about our engagement on the review of the Belfast Agenda

    The Belfast Community Planning Partnership developed the Belfast Agenda based on engagement with local stakeholders.  When we consulted about the plan back in 2016-17, the Irish language was not one of the key issues raised by local people.  Many challenges, concerns and opportunities were raised and trying to reflect all in a single plan or document was not easy.  I will include your comments in our regular updates to the community planning partnership.  We will also use the opportunity of the revised Belfast Agenda to consider how, as a partnership, we can better reflect the Irish language in our publications and plans.  

    When we consult on the Belfast Agenda, we encourage everyone to have their say and get involved.  I would encourage you to register and follow the Belfast Agenda page so you can be kept up to date about ongoing engagement opportunities at the following link: https://yoursay.belfastcity.gov.uk/hub-page/reviewba

    The Your Say Belfast platform also features a reader assist and language tool that enables you to read and respond in the language of your choice, including the Irish language.  

  • Share Blackstaff Residents' Association has in the past expressed views at public meetings in Olympia Leisure Centre and written submissions. We are not sure if our views were considered. Before the end of this year, it might be best to send again our views and even add to them. Please let us know how best this can be done. Regards, Billy Dickson, Chairperson. on Facebook Share Blackstaff Residents' Association has in the past expressed views at public meetings in Olympia Leisure Centre and written submissions. We are not sure if our views were considered. Before the end of this year, it might be best to send again our views and even add to them. Please let us know how best this can be done. Regards, Billy Dickson, Chairperson. on Twitter Share Blackstaff Residents' Association has in the past expressed views at public meetings in Olympia Leisure Centre and written submissions. We are not sure if our views were considered. Before the end of this year, it might be best to send again our views and even add to them. Please let us know how best this can be done. Regards, Billy Dickson, Chairperson. on Linkedin Email Blackstaff Residents' Association has in the past expressed views at public meetings in Olympia Leisure Centre and written submissions. We are not sure if our views were considered. Before the end of this year, it might be best to send again our views and even add to them. Please let us know how best this can be done. Regards, Billy Dickson, Chairperson. link

    Blackstaff Residents' Association has in the past expressed views at public meetings in Olympia Leisure Centre and written submissions. We are not sure if our views were considered. Before the end of this year, it might be best to send again our views and even add to them. Please let us know how best this can be done. Regards, Billy Dickson, Chairperson.

    William DICKSON Dickson asked over 2 years ago

    Hi Billy 

    We welcome all contributions and do try to take on board everyone's views. If you would like to update your previous submission and email it to: communityplanning@belfastcity.gov.uk and I will ensure that it is considered along with other responses we have received to date. 

    We are still in the process of reviewing the Belfast Agenda, so there will be other opportunities to get involved.  If you haven't already done so, please register on the Your Say Belfast site or "follow" this project to be kept up to date.

    Kind regards

    The Community Planning Team     

  • Share Maidir le: The Belfast Agenda Cén fáth nach bhfuil aon tagairt anseo don Ghaeilge? Tagann seo salach ar Straiteis teangacha na Comhairle. Níl aon tagairt don Ghaeilge, do phobal na Gaeilge, don Ghaelscolaíocht nó don Cheathrú Gaeltachta. Ba cheart comhairliúchán a dhéanamh le pobal na Gaeilge maidir leis an Phlean seo. on Facebook Share Maidir le: The Belfast Agenda Cén fáth nach bhfuil aon tagairt anseo don Ghaeilge? Tagann seo salach ar Straiteis teangacha na Comhairle. Níl aon tagairt don Ghaeilge, do phobal na Gaeilge, don Ghaelscolaíocht nó don Cheathrú Gaeltachta. Ba cheart comhairliúchán a dhéanamh le pobal na Gaeilge maidir leis an Phlean seo. on Twitter Share Maidir le: The Belfast Agenda Cén fáth nach bhfuil aon tagairt anseo don Ghaeilge? Tagann seo salach ar Straiteis teangacha na Comhairle. Níl aon tagairt don Ghaeilge, do phobal na Gaeilge, don Ghaelscolaíocht nó don Cheathrú Gaeltachta. Ba cheart comhairliúchán a dhéanamh le pobal na Gaeilge maidir leis an Phlean seo. on Linkedin Email Maidir le: The Belfast Agenda Cén fáth nach bhfuil aon tagairt anseo don Ghaeilge? Tagann seo salach ar Straiteis teangacha na Comhairle. Níl aon tagairt don Ghaeilge, do phobal na Gaeilge, don Ghaelscolaíocht nó don Cheathrú Gaeltachta. Ba cheart comhairliúchán a dhéanamh le pobal na Gaeilge maidir leis an Phlean seo. link

    Maidir le: The Belfast Agenda Cén fáth nach bhfuil aon tagairt anseo don Ghaeilge? Tagann seo salach ar Straiteis teangacha na Comhairle. Níl aon tagairt don Ghaeilge, do phobal na Gaeilge, don Ghaelscolaíocht nó don Cheathrú Gaeltachta. Ba cheart comhairliúchán a dhéanamh le pobal na Gaeilge maidir leis an Phlean seo.

    Pádraig Ó Tiarnaigh asked over 2 years ago

    Go raibh maith agat as teacht i dteagmháil linn faoinár mbeart rannpháirtíochta ar athbhreithniú ar Chlár Oibre Bhéal Feirste.

    Ní doiciméad de chuid na Comhairle é Clár Oibre Bhéal Feirste. Tá sé i “seilbh” Chomhpháirtíocht Pleanála Pobail Bhéal Feirste. Is é an plean comhroinnte é don chathair ar aidhm dó folláine shóisialta, eacnamaíoch agus chomhshaoil gach duine i mBéal Feirste a fheabhsú. Dírítear ar bhuntosaíochtaí don chathair faoi mar atá comhaontaithe ag Chomhpháirtíocht Pleanála Pobail Bhéal Feirste, bunaithe ar theagmháil agus cumarsáid le muintir na cathrach. Nuair a rinne muid comhairliúchán faoin phlean in 2016-2017, ní raibh an Ghaeilge i measc na gcroícheisteanna a thóg páirtithe leasmhara. Tógadh go leor dúshlán, údair imní agus deiseanna agus níobh fhurasta iad uile a léiriú i bplean nó doiciméad amháin. Beidh do chuid tuairimí mar chuid dár n-uasdátuithe leis an chomhpháirtíocht pleanála pobail. Tapóidh muid fosta an deis a bhaineann le Clár Oibre Bhéal Feirste athbhreithnithe lena mheas cén dóigh is fearr a dtig linne, mar chomhpháirtíocht, an Ghaeilge a léiriú inár gcuid foilseachán agus pleananna.

    Nuair a théann muid i mbun comhairliúcháin faoi Chlár Oibre Bhéal Feirste, iarraimid ar gach duine a bheith páirteach agus a mbarúlacha a chur in iúl. Iarraim oraibh clárú agus leathanach Chlár Oibre Bhéal Feirste a leanúint ionas go mbeidh tú ar an eolas faoi dheiseanna rannpháirtíochta atá le teacht ag an nasc seo a leanas: https://yoursay.belfastcity.gov.uk/hub-page/reviewba

    Ar fáil fosta ar ardán Your Say Belfast tá uirlis cuidithe léitheoireachta agus teanga a chuireann ar do chumas do rogha teanga a léamh agus freagairt inti, an Ghaeilge san áireamh.

  • Share Is údar mór díomá é dom, mar bhall de phobal na Gaeilge, nach bhfuil oiread is tagairt amháin don Ghaeilge sa phlean seo. Faoin Chairt Eorpach um Theangacha Réigiúnacha agus Mionlaigh, tá dualgas ar an Chomhairle an Ghaeilge a chosaint agus a chur chun cinn, agus beart a chur i bhfeidhm a éascaíonn úsáid na Gaeilge. Tá sé soiléir arís go ndearnadh neamhaird ar an dualgas seo, agus nach bhfuil an Ghaeilge mar chuid d'fhís na Comhairle. Churifinn ar Chomhairle Chathair Bhéal Feirste athbhreithniú a dhéanamh ar an bhearna soiléir atá ann i leith na Gaeilge agus céimeanna sásúla, ceartbhunaithe a ghlacadh chun an teanga a chur san áireamh i bplean 4 bliana na Comhairle. on Facebook Share Is údar mór díomá é dom, mar bhall de phobal na Gaeilge, nach bhfuil oiread is tagairt amháin don Ghaeilge sa phlean seo. Faoin Chairt Eorpach um Theangacha Réigiúnacha agus Mionlaigh, tá dualgas ar an Chomhairle an Ghaeilge a chosaint agus a chur chun cinn, agus beart a chur i bhfeidhm a éascaíonn úsáid na Gaeilge. Tá sé soiléir arís go ndearnadh neamhaird ar an dualgas seo, agus nach bhfuil an Ghaeilge mar chuid d'fhís na Comhairle. Churifinn ar Chomhairle Chathair Bhéal Feirste athbhreithniú a dhéanamh ar an bhearna soiléir atá ann i leith na Gaeilge agus céimeanna sásúla, ceartbhunaithe a ghlacadh chun an teanga a chur san áireamh i bplean 4 bliana na Comhairle. on Twitter Share Is údar mór díomá é dom, mar bhall de phobal na Gaeilge, nach bhfuil oiread is tagairt amháin don Ghaeilge sa phlean seo. Faoin Chairt Eorpach um Theangacha Réigiúnacha agus Mionlaigh, tá dualgas ar an Chomhairle an Ghaeilge a chosaint agus a chur chun cinn, agus beart a chur i bhfeidhm a éascaíonn úsáid na Gaeilge. Tá sé soiléir arís go ndearnadh neamhaird ar an dualgas seo, agus nach bhfuil an Ghaeilge mar chuid d'fhís na Comhairle. Churifinn ar Chomhairle Chathair Bhéal Feirste athbhreithniú a dhéanamh ar an bhearna soiléir atá ann i leith na Gaeilge agus céimeanna sásúla, ceartbhunaithe a ghlacadh chun an teanga a chur san áireamh i bplean 4 bliana na Comhairle. on Linkedin Email Is údar mór díomá é dom, mar bhall de phobal na Gaeilge, nach bhfuil oiread is tagairt amháin don Ghaeilge sa phlean seo. Faoin Chairt Eorpach um Theangacha Réigiúnacha agus Mionlaigh, tá dualgas ar an Chomhairle an Ghaeilge a chosaint agus a chur chun cinn, agus beart a chur i bhfeidhm a éascaíonn úsáid na Gaeilge. Tá sé soiléir arís go ndearnadh neamhaird ar an dualgas seo, agus nach bhfuil an Ghaeilge mar chuid d'fhís na Comhairle. Churifinn ar Chomhairle Chathair Bhéal Feirste athbhreithniú a dhéanamh ar an bhearna soiléir atá ann i leith na Gaeilge agus céimeanna sásúla, ceartbhunaithe a ghlacadh chun an teanga a chur san áireamh i bplean 4 bliana na Comhairle. link

    Is údar mór díomá é dom, mar bhall de phobal na Gaeilge, nach bhfuil oiread is tagairt amháin don Ghaeilge sa phlean seo. Faoin Chairt Eorpach um Theangacha Réigiúnacha agus Mionlaigh, tá dualgas ar an Chomhairle an Ghaeilge a chosaint agus a chur chun cinn, agus beart a chur i bhfeidhm a éascaíonn úsáid na Gaeilge. Tá sé soiléir arís go ndearnadh neamhaird ar an dualgas seo, agus nach bhfuil an Ghaeilge mar chuid d'fhís na Comhairle. Churifinn ar Chomhairle Chathair Bhéal Feirste athbhreithniú a dhéanamh ar an bhearna soiléir atá ann i leith na Gaeilge agus céimeanna sásúla, ceartbhunaithe a ghlacadh chun an teanga a chur san áireamh i bplean 4 bliana na Comhairle.

    Cuisle Nic Liam asked over 2 years ago

    Ní doiciméad de chuid na Comhairle é Clár Oibre Bhéal Feirste. 

    Tá sé i “seilbh” Chomhpháirtíocht Pleanála Pobail Bhéal Feirste. Is é atá i gceist le Comhpháirtíocht Pleanála Pobail Bhéal Feirste, 14 eagras ainmnithe reachtúla agus ionadaithe breise ón earnáil ghnó, phobail agus dheonach. Is é an chomhairle a stiúrann agus a éascaíonn an próiseas pleanála pobail; is doiciméad comhroinnte é, áfach, Clár Oibre Bhéal Feirste, agus na réimsí fócais agus gníomhaíochta comhaontaithe ag an chomhpháirtíocht, bunaithe ar chomhairliúchán le réimse leathan de pháirtithe leasmhara, cónaitheoirí áitiúla san áireamh. Le linn an phróisis rannpháirtíochta a bhí againn in 2016-2017, ardaíodh an iomad ceist agus dúshlán. D'ainneoin nár tháinig an Ghaeilge chun cinn mar chroícheist aisti féin, áfach, dúirt bunadh na háite linn gur mian leo a bheith ina gcónaí i gcathair shíochánta ina dtugtar cúram do chách agus ina léirítear meas ar chách. Cé go bhfuil muid ag luathchéim sa phróiseas rannpháirtíochta seo, ardaíodh fosta an tábhacht atá leis an ilchineálacht.

    De réir mar a théann muid i mbun na chéad chéime eile den rannpháirtíocht, beidh tuilleadh deiseanna ann chun a fhiosrú cén dóigh ar féidir an Ghaeilge a léiriú i bpleananna a bhaineann le comhionannas, ilchineálacht, cultúr agus rachmas eacnamaíochta. Tá muid ag iarraidh oraibh an t-athbhreithniú ar Chlár Oibre Bhéal Feirste a “leanúint” ar Your Say Belfast nó an nasc seo a leanas a bhreathnú ar bhonn leanúnach mar a bhfuil teacht ar na bhforbairtí is déanaí: https://yoursay.belfastcity.gov.uk/hub-page/reviewba         

    Nuair a chéadfhoilsigh muid Clár Oibre Bhéal Feirste in 2017, chuir muid leagan Gaeilge ar fáil ar iarratas. Tá deis tagtha le Clár Oibre Bhéal Feirste athbhreithnithe, áfach, breathnú ar an dóigh a dtig linne, mar chomhpháirtíocht, an soláthar Gaeilge inár gcuid foilseachán agus pleananna a fheabhsú.

  • Share How will provisions be made for Irish speakers in the new plans? Will language rights be taken into consideration? on Facebook Share How will provisions be made for Irish speakers in the new plans? Will language rights be taken into consideration? on Twitter Share How will provisions be made for Irish speakers in the new plans? Will language rights be taken into consideration? on Linkedin Email How will provisions be made for Irish speakers in the new plans? Will language rights be taken into consideration? link

    How will provisions be made for Irish speakers in the new plans? Will language rights be taken into consideration?

    Aodhán Ó Baoill asked over 2 years ago

    Thank you for contacting us about our engagement on the review of the Belfast Agenda.  

    We are still in the process of reviewing and updating the Belfast Agenda.  The first phase of our engagement is considering whether the original vision and outcomes are still relevant and whether the proposed priorities for the next four years are appropriate.  Through the engagement events we are also able to get an insight into what the priorities mean for a range of communities and localities, which will help inform the actions taken by the Community Planning Partnership over the next four years. It is too early to confirm specific actions and commitments.  However, our engagement programme will continue into 2022 and, over the coming months, will start to develop more detailed actions.  

    The Belfast Agenda is not technically a council document; it is owned by and published on behalf of the Belfast Community Planning Partnership which includes 14 named statutory organisations and additional representatives from the business, community and voluntary sectors.  Belfast city Council leads the community process on behalf of the Partnership.  When we first consulted on the draft Belfast Agenda, we undertook a survey in Irish language with the help of the Irish language schools across Belfast.   We also provide an Irish language version of the published Belfast Agenda document upon request.  In collaboration with the community planning partnership we will look at how we can improve the provision for Irish language speakers when it comes to designing and publishing the updated document. 

    Please note that the Council has a Language Strategy which was which was agreed in 2018 and our elected Members have agreed to establish an Elected Member Working Group to take it forward. A Terms of Reference for the Elected Member Working Group was agreed by committee in October.